Monday, August 3, 2009

Ra Ra Riot meets Vampire Weekend (B+)

A little late coming, but in case you haven't had the opportunity to listen to the latest collaboration between Ra Ra Riot's frontman Wes Miles and Vampire Weekend's keyboardist Rostam Batmanglij... you should. The two formed a side project known as "Discovery," releasing their debut album named "LP" this past July.

All and all, Discovery definitely brings a distinct sound that won't be confused with either VW or Ra Ra Riot. You can, however, hear remnants of both bands given Discovery's melodies and poppy hooks. It should be noted that, LP isn't just a hold-over listen for VW and Ra Ra fans-- rather its very solid in its own right (e.g. think Postal Service and Death Cab). Discovery is far more experimental than either of band member's main gigs-- utilizing both auto-tone and some glitch effects that sounds like a more polished version of Girl Talk's "Unstoppable." Add in a few popular contributors, including VW's Ezra Koenig and Dirty Projectors’ Angel Deradoorian, and you have one of the better albums of the entire summer.

Track List for LP:
1. 'Orange Shirt – 3:31

2. Osaka Loop Line – 4:02

3. Can You Discover? – 2:22

4. I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend (featuring Angel Deradoorian) – 2:40

5. So Insane – 3:13

6. Swing Tree – 2:38

7. Carby (featuring Ezra Koenig) – 3:07

8. I Want You Back (In Discovery) – 3:26 (Jackson 5 Cover)

9. It's Not My Fault (It's My Fault) – 2:34

10. Slang Tang – 2:28

Buy the cd here.

No comments:

Post a Comment